Posted in Uncategorized

What is your worth?

Being placed in certain situations offers various opportunities. I proved it when I was placed in a particular teacher’s 4th form class. He’s an amazing teacher who cares about the development of his students all round. Recently, he issued a challenge;he posed two questions and gave us some time to consider our answers (gave us until April actually).

The questions were:

1. What is your worth?

2. How do you measure your worth? Are you undervaluing or overvaluing yourself? What standards do you use to measure your worth? Do you have a price tag?

Question 2 has a lot of parts as you may realise. I believe it shows the importance of this one question in our lives. I’ve made so many attempts at answering this question and it was when I wasn’t thinking about an answer that I really got one.

I’m worth nothing without God. He gives me life, health, strength and enables me to use my knowledge. If my life is not completely in His hands, I have no life. 

I believe I’m only worth as much as I give back to the universe. Life is a cycle and whatever we do with the little we have will be repaid. 

I thought I was a perfectly sociable and approachable human being, until today. I think this goes to show that you never know yourself well enough – your opinions of yourself are most likely biased. So through this question I have also learned that I need to smile more, say “hello” to a few more people and care more.

Destiny can be kind – more often then not. It’s up to us to give back to the world that gives so much to us.I don’t think we have “no more to give“until we die. Each breath of life that we take, shows just how much potential there is within us to give back.

I don’t believe a person’s worth should be measured by anything material. Material things age and fade with time. They will all disappear someday. What matters is what is within – our values and beliefs, love, compassion, faithfulness. We can not be shallow human beings and die happily. True happiness comes from making others happy and if I’m not making others feel worthy, happy, needed then my life has no value. 

We may seem insignificant or unworthy to everyone else, however, our Heavenly Father has made each of us special. The very hairs of our head are numbered !!! Whatever man may think is nothing compared to the King of the World’s opinion.

Being worthy should be your individual feeling. You may be unknown, ignored or probably even slandered, but it’s up to you to know your individual worth and act like it. Things are treated according to what they are and their value. 

A diamond is given a space of importance and is protected while a stainless steel spoon is not given much thought.If you believe that you are a diamond, act like it! If you act like a stainless steel spoon, you’ll be treated like a spoon. 

In this world you must demand good if it is what you desire. It is much easier for someone to lose or to have no respect for you than it is to gain respect. Yes, we should not value ourselves based on the world’s opinions but we should consider who we are, whose we are and what we are.

I guess that’s just it.

Author:

I am a very sociable Jamaican and an avid reader. I would like to become a psychologist, linguist, programmer and writer in the future. I want to leave an impact. I love God and I want the world to know. Can't Get Enough Ntini? Follow me on: Instagram @ntiniedwards_ LinkedIn @Ntini Edwards Wattpad @Ntini16 Tumblr @nerdnome16 Pinterest @Ntini Edwards

Leave a Reply

