Posted in Uncategorized

Looking Within

At the beginning of each year people make resolutions. Sometimes these do last, sometimes the willpower is lost when the year gets old (so to speak). 

People make resolutions around summer too.This is a time for  people to go to the beach, travel, visit family members and relatives and party (according to trends). Unlike New Year’s Resolutions these are not about inner self improvement but rather improvement of the physical appearance. 

Most, if not all of us, get caught up in the moment at this time. We make resolutions – just like everyone else – then forget about them -just like everyone else. Sometimes we do catch up on ourselves. Other times…we don’t. There are some of us who will find time to think, review and analyse our actions and decide to fix the problems. Others of us need a push, a wake up call (like the ones I need to start responding toπŸ˜„) to propel us in the right direction.

That’s just it! We’re humans! WE ARE HUMANS

Take a second to savour your humanity because trust me, there’s nothing else we can be…but humans.

What am I trying to say exactly? You don’t need to make resolutions? You shouldn’t make resolutions? Resolutions are only words?                

                                         NO!!!!!!
You are the person who decides that. What I believe is that we should make resolutions to be the best us that we can be EVERY SINGLE DAY.

Goals can’t be achieved with one big step! Stop beating yourself up about that. 

I repeat…SAVOUR YOUR HUMANITY.

Is it that you should be happy that you’ll mess up? Or that you’ll forget important things? Or that you’ll follow the crowd sometimes? 

Bah…Those are pretty far from being considered accomplishments. What we should enjoy about it is as simple as this…

We Have Control. We Can Change Things. We Get Second Chances…  Everyday that we get up is a new opportunity to do great things.

As I stated earlier, it can’t be done in 1 Big Step. We’ll most likely fall and hurt ourselves…that would be discouraging😩. What we all realize (whether or not we’re builders) is that no house is built from the top down nor any stair made of 1 Big Step. 

We have to go up each tiny step before making it to the top.

This is a lesson for resolutions. 

  • Have big dreams…great goals…Goals that scare you.
  • Make a daily plan on how to achieve them. Set a reminder if you must.
  • Write them down.
  • Today I will be the most awesome me ever. I will not…(or at least I’ll try my best not to…). I will…But even if I fail today,  I’m human so I’ll try again

You don’t have to make a resolution now.You don’t have to do it just because everyone else is doing it (something adults tell teens a lot πŸ˜‰). Make it personal. Make it something you’re passionate about and won’t give up on. 

The most important thing to remember (yes, apart from the fact that we’re humans) is that not everyone needs to know what your goals are. We can resolve to do something within ourselves. Sometimes we should surprise others…Let them see that we’re trying to put our best life forward without us saying it.

Happy 2017. Bless up…πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ

Always your 

πŸ’– Ntini😘

 

Author:

I am a very sociable Jamaican and an avid reader. I would like to become a psychologist, linguist, programmer and writer in the future. I want to leave an impact. I love God and I want the world to know. Can't Get Enough Ntini? Follow me on: Instagram @ntiniedwards_ LinkedIn @Ntini Edwards Wattpad @Ntini16 Tumblr @nerdnome16 Pinterest @Ntini Edwards

Leave a Reply

