Posted in Uncategorized

What to Say

What do I say when I am distressed, but not in need of pity?
What do I say when I have to answer a question but I know if I open my mouth in that moment I will have regrets?
What do I say when I want to highlight something without embarrassing someone?
How do I comfort a depressed friend when I do not know what to say?
What do I say?

Words are one of the most powerful things. They have the power to build up and break down. Words have the power to create and destroy.

Words appear in so many formats:

🆎 Thoughts
🆎 Spoken
🆎 Written
🆎 Songs
🆎 Gestures
🆎 Symbols

Speech is one of the most universal forms of communication. With the rise of technology, the visually impaired are able to read, the hearing and speech impaired are able to speak with their hands, people from different nations are able to speak in each other’s language.

No longer is language a barrier to communicating effectively.
Yet with all the developments around us we still do not know what to say.

Everyday we are presented with situations that require us to be able to ‘colour’ our speech so it can accomplish a particular task and so often many of us fail. One word can lead to a missed opportunity, a broken heart a destroyed friendship, a huge misunderstanding.

The fact that we are unable to read the thoughts of our associates, adds to the difficulty in effective communication. Words are interpreted differently based on the listener.

Empathy is defined as the ability to understand and share the feelings of another.

Empathetic behaviour is a key to using words effectively.

Put on the other person’s skin and walk around in it

That is empathy and that is key in keeping charge of your sanity when the daily challenge of effective communication is presented.

Author:

I am a very sociable person and an avid reader. I would like to become a psychologist, linguist and writer in the future.

2 thoughts on “What to Say

Leave a Reply

